top of page

How to Get Ready for a Photo Shoot

Updated: Dec 19, 2020

Do you have an exciting photo shoot coming up and need tips for getting ready? Or want some advice on looking your best for a big day? Ether way, if you need to get R E A D Y, here are some of my pieces of advice for preparing the day before and day of a photo shoot.


Note: Please be SAFE at your photoshoots - see my other blog post How To Be Safe As a Model


CONFIDENCE AND MENTAL PREPARATION

Meditate, repeat affirmations, feel confident and be ready to show off your beauty. Know ahead of time the which style the shoot will be and think of poses you would want to do. Before shooting I'll often listen to some relaxing or upbeat music (depending on what I need that day) and scroll through Pinterest or Instagram for some pose inspiration. Have these somewhere easy to access during the shoot in case you go blank and need a quick jump start! If you have time to do a mini shoot beforehand, take advantage of that to get in the zone. As you shoot more, this part will be less relevant, but I can assure you all models need some sort of good mental preparation before a shoot.


DRINK YOUR WATER

Your skin will thank you when you’re hydrated. This prevents dryness and/or oiliness. I’m not a dermatologist, but I can tell you that sometimes skin actually gets oily because it’s overcompensating for lack of internal moisture. I recommend drinking approximately a gallon of water a day, especially the day before a shoot. Some fitness models recommend the exact opposite, claiming less water will make you appear more thin. My response is that this difference is extremely minimal if even noticeable at all, and not worth risking your internal health or peace of mind for.

DO A FACE MASK

It’s important to do your research on what kind of face mask to use for your skin. I have naturally more dry skin so I avoid clay masks, but I absolutely love glycolic masks and sheet masks. I recommend a sheet mask the morning of your shoot. If you do an intensive exfoliating mask, my tip is to do it the night before or at least 3 hours before the shoot incase it turns your skin red. This happened to me one time and I was so scared it would show up in the pictures! If you do happen to have red skin before your shoot, try using a Cool-Pak or ice to calm your skin down. You can also use a jade roller that's been sitting in the freezer.


For tips on posing check out Posing Tips for Models.


SHOWER AND SHAVE

Shaving isn’t always important, especially if you know you’ll be doing more casual looks with jeans or long sleeves, but it will help to make you feel more confident. Definitely shave before a swim shoot! I always shave the night before to avoid any itchiness or redness from occurring during the shoot. Exfoliate the area before shaving to get a close and clean shave. This goes for men too! If you prefer waxing, be sure to do this a few days in advance as the redness can remain for up to 72 hours.


HAIR AND MAKEUP

I prefer a blowout if I can get one. If it’s a professional production, a lot of times they will hire someone to do hair and makeup for you. If you prefer doing your own hair/makeup, that’s okay of course, but I find having a professional do it will always give you an extra oomph. It never hurts to ask if a h/mua can be hired. If you get to choose your own hair/makeup artist, be sure to look at their style beforehand so you know what they are used to doing and will excel at. Dry Society is an Austin-based hair and makeup salon I've worked with before, and absolutely loved!

SKIP THE BIG MEAL

Now this isn’t saying don’t eat before your shoots. It’s a common misconception that you’ll look “fat” after eating a big meal before shooting. Eating before a shoot is good to avoid getting cranky. However, if you feel bloated, it can really bring down the vibe. Shooting is hard work! Save the big meal for after shooting - it feels so rewarding afterwards to inhale an entire pizza. Trust me, I would know!


ORAL HYGIENE

Obviously you should be doing this anyway, but I recommend an extra round before leaving for the shoot. This will encourage extra wide and bright smiles! Don’t skip out on flossing. It will make your smile really shine, and it’s extra healthy for your gums. Even if you don't plan to smile in the photos, you still want to bring your A-game for the production team to raise the vibe on set!


LOVE YOUR LIPS

I have a tendency to get dry lips and sometimes that shows in my photos. Learn from my mistakes and be sure to apply some sort of oil before the shoot, or carry lip balm with you! Be careful not to use certain balms as they actually dry your lips out to encourage more application and more product purchasing. I prefer coconut oil or sunflower oil. I find these work a lot better and are much more natural.


Interested in more? Contact me for information to purchase my Model Guide - everything you need to know to be a successful model!

bottom of page